Why “20 Somethings” Articles Are Rubbish

I think daily on my Facebook newsfeed I see at least two articles claiming what should be done in one’s 20’s. “10 Places To Visit In Your 20’s”. “20 Things You Must Do In Your 20’s”. “Why Your 20’s Are The Best Years of Your Life”.

I’m not saying that the information and inspiration in these articles is garbage, but what is this “20 Something” business? Why limit life to your 20’s? The same way your parents tell you “high school is the best years of your life”, why are people swallowing the same spit we’ve always been given?

There is also the counter side of your 20’s. The “work hard now so you can play later” side. The side that thinks your 20’s is about buckling down and getting your life on course before your 30’s.

Why are you limiting/pressuring yourself at all?

Currently I am 23. I should have graduated this year with a degree in Biological Sciences and a minor in Chemistry and probably have found a lab to work in by the end of this year. At the start of 22 I had a 6 year relationship who I thought I’d just settle down with. I was on the buckle down track. Even though it wasn’t what I wanted. I was doing what I thought was expected of me. I was doing what I thought people would be most proud of.

I turned 23 a single lass vowing to never look back. I turned 23 having changed my major to Japanese with a minor in International Business. I turned 23 with open eyes to the massive world in front of me. At first, and even still at times, I think, ‘Damn, I’m 23 and what have I accomplished?’ But more often now I think, I am learning to love myself and I am living this life that I want. I hope I can travel the world. I never want to settle down. I want what people will always call an unrealistic life. And that is perfect to me.

People gasp at that. But it’s the same way I gasp any time a friend becomes married or has babies. There is nothing wrong with how you choose to live your life at any age as long as you are happy. (And of course not tragically hurting others.)

If you are in your teens freaking out because you have no idea about college. You have time. Play it day by day and do what you love. The rest will fall in place.

If you’re in your 20’s and graduated with a job and a family already. Awesome. Not everyone needs to visit 20 places in their 20’s to be fulfilled. If you’re in your 20’s traveling the world and still trying to figure out what you want. Awesome. Keep doing what is making you happy until you figure it out. Maybe traveling and working odd jobs IS what you want to do.

30’s, 40’s, 50’s, 60’s. WHO CARES!

The thing about life is that it is your own. We all read these articles. We all look at what we consider accomplishments in our friend’s lives. Unfortunately we let these things effect our own self views. Should I have waited for children? Should I have gone to college? Should I travel? Should I get married? Should I have casual sex? Should I this? Should I that?

I think the only thing you should do is what makes you happy with your life.

4 thoughts on “Why “20 Somethings” Articles Are Rubbish

  1. I see so many similarities here ! Won’t start blabbering about my life on your such a wonderful post, but I think these are the words I was longing to hear, Holly ! You gave a whole new perspective to life. The confusion, the uncertainty and the ups and downs are what make life, life ! I completely agree with you that one has to trust himself/herself and keep doing what their heart says. Some day, the heart and the brain will surely resonate. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

