Big News and Goodbyes

I’ll start with the sad stuff. Today I had to say two goodbyes. My final childhood pet passed away today. In just over a year I’ve lost all of them. My childhood house has never felt like home, but each time one of the animals passed away it became even less welcoming. I’m worried to go visit again to such emptiness.

My best friend boarded his flight to Japan at noon today. It was hard on me when he graduated and I was no longer able to see him on campus. Now we are a world apart. It’s rare for me to find people I can trust completely, and in such a short time he’s become my best friend. I’m going to miss that so much.

But….I’VE BEEN ACCEPTED TO STUDY IN TOKYO!

That’s right… what I’ve always talked about will be happening. So for both of these things I have said… I hope I can find a place that will feel like home. I have always had this piece in my heart that said, go to Japan. I’m interested to see what my soul feels when I am there. Also… I’ve been accepted the school my best friend studied at in Tokyo. And even better, his company is only a 15 minute train ride away. So he says to me, ‘I will see you soon’.

Despite feeling so numb and empty, I will keep pushing forward for Japan. I have a lot of work to do. The only good thing about this pain is that it is making me want to bury myself in my responsibilities. I will come out on top of this. I will see my best friend again. I will go to Japan. I will learn and grow.

5 thoughts on “Big News and Goodbyes

  1. This is the perfect time to feel bad about being able to press a “Like” button. Nothing to like about losing a childhood pet. Digital hug coming your way!

Leave a Reply

