Rant & Rave: Imagination

Every once and awhile I feel like I just need to get some things off of my chest, and since I’m doing this blog, I thought, why not to you!?

Now to begin with I’ll start off saying, I don’t have children. The youngest I consider to have helped raise is 2. I don’t know what it’s like being a full time parent, so in no way am I trying to personally offend anyone, but why do so many parents seem to bash on their child’s imagination!?

When I was a tot I was constantly pretending. After my mom and sisters moved away I spent a lot of time with cousins. I remember one particular aunt HATED when my cousin and I would pretend to be dogs. She never directly yelled at me, but constantly to her daughter. She would say things along the line of “that isn’t lady like”, “that’s not cute”. My cousin was probably four at this time.

The latest thing I’ve seen pop up on Facebook is a split post. One side shows a black and white photo of two tots playing cowboys and Indians. The other side shows a “HD” photo of a parent lecturing their child on how that game is “racist”.

I won’t get into how I feel about the “race” card. But seriously? I understand every “game” has a limit, but just because your kid is playing pretend does not mean they are being offensive.

All I ever heard growing up was; “One day reality is going to smack you in the face.” “I don’t know what kind of world you live in…but good luck out there.” And similar phrases.

Even now, at 21 years old, I am different than most of my family. I’m sarcastic and I still play pretend. And yes, reality sucks sometimes, but having a creative mind allows me to make the best out of a lot of situations.

Yes, I think it is very important to establish the differences between “reality” and playing pretend. But why do parents today seem to have such a hard time embracing and encouraging their child’s creativity?

I have a lot of doubts in myself when it comes to being a parent one day. But I won’t ever let my child feel outcasted by me. I would never bring them down for doing what they love.

And I don’t care how old you are; how bitter the world has been to you.

Always remember that child inside of you.

Image

Leave a Reply

